
Important Information for  
 
 Victims of sexual abuse      
 Hospitals and clinics             

o Billing Departments                    
o Social Service Departments             
o Emergency Departments            

 Physicians and Sexual Abuse Nurse 
Examiners (SANEs)   

 Medical Laboratories 
 Pharmacies                               

 

History and Authority 
 
The Sexual Abuse Examination Payment 
Program (SAE) was established in 1979 to 
pay the cost of evidentiary examinations for 
victims of sexual crimes.  The Iowa Attorney 
General’s Crime Victim Assistance Division 
has administered the program since July 1, 
1990.   
 
The State’s authority and responsibility to 
pay for the examinations is established in 
Iowa Code section 915.41: 
 
 

 
 
 

Program Purpose 
 
The SAE Program has a three-fold purpose.  
The state pays the cost of forensic 
examinations to ensure that evidence is 
collected in a proper and timely manner.  
The state pays the cost of the medical 
examination to assure the wellbeing of 
victims of sexual abuse.  Finally, the state 
pays the cost of treatment for the prevention 
of a sexually transmitted infection (STI) for a 
victim. 
(*If a STI is contracted, the charges for the 
treatment of the contracted STI could 
potentially be paid by the Crime Victim 
Compensation Program) 
 
The SAE program pays the cost of an 
evidentiary sexual abuse examination 
whether or not the victim reports the crime 
to law enforcement.  A timely exam ensures 
that prosecutors have effectively collected 
evidence if the victim later decides to report 
the crime. Sexual Abuse evidence is most 
effectively collected from adults in the 72 
hours immediately following the assault.  
For children, the effective collection period 
is slightly longer, but best done as soon as 
possible. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Payment for sexual abuse 
examinations include: 
 
1.  The physician or SANE primary 
examiner fee up to $200  
 History and documentation; 
 Physical examination; 
 Collection of specimens; 
 Follow up tests and treatment for the 

prevention of STIs.  
 
2.  Facility fees up to $300 (emergency 
department, clinic, or office) 
 The examination room; 
 Nursing services; 
 Medical supplies; 
 Medical equipment use such as 

colposcope and camera.     
                                                                   
3.  Reasonable Laboratory fees 
 Collection of laboratory specimens; 
 STI testing, including HIV and 

hepatitis screening; 
 Pregnancy testing; 
 Drug and alcohol screens; 
 Date rape drug screens. 

 
4.  Reasonable Pharmacy fees  
 Prescriptions for the treatment to 

prevent STI. 
 Oral contraceptives and Plan B 

(morning after pill). 
 
5.  Return visit fees  

 Testing and treatment for the 
prevention of STIs;  

 Examiner and facility fees have the 
same payment limits as for the initial 
examination. 

 
 
 

915.41 The cost of a medical 
examination for the purpose of 
gathering evidence and the 
cost of treatment for the 
purpose of preventing 
venereal disease shall be paid 
from the fund established in 
section 915.94. 
[The Compensation Fund] 
 

• The SAE program has no direct contact with the sexual abuse victim.   
• There is no SAE victim application form.   
• Medical providers and laboratories send bills directly to the program. 
• Per federal regulations, medical providers cannot refuse to provide an exam because the victim chooses not to report to law enforcement. 
  



Billing Guidelines 
 
The SAE program has the following billing 
guidelines by law and administrative rule. 
 
 The program is the primary payer for 

sexual abuse medical and 
evidentiary exams. 

 
 A provider is prohibited from billing 

the victim for the forensic and 
medical examination, including any 
balance remaining after the SAE 
program has paid. 

 
 A provider is prohibited from billing 

the victim’s cost of the exam to the 
private or public health insurance 
provider. 

 

Billing Procedures 
 
 Bills for an SAE examination are 

submitted to the program directly by 
the examiner, facility, or laboratory. 

 
 The bill must itemize each cost and 

include the name of each service 
provided. 

 
 The diagnosis must be properly 

coded for sexual abuse, generally 
V71.5, E960.1, 995.53 or 995.83, 
and state that the services were a 
sexual abuse examination. 

 
 The bill must include the Federal 

identification Number of the provider, 
the date of service, and the victim’s 
name and date of birth. 
 

 Medical records must be attached. 
 
 

Crime Victim Compensation 
 

The SAE program pays only the costs 
associated with an examination for a sexual 
abuse crime.  Victims often have   additional 
physical or emotional injuries, separate from 
those addressed by the sexual abuse 
evidence exam.   
 
All sexual abuse victims should be 
given an application for the Crime 
Victim Compensation Program. 
 
The Crime Victim Compensation program 
may help pay other crime-related costs of 
the victim such as counseling costs, lost 
wages, additional medical costs, crime 
scene cleanup, and clothing replacement. 
 
Funding for the SAE and Crime Victim 
Compensation programs comes entirely 
from state and federal criminal fines and 
penalties.  No tax dollars are used. 

 
Submit bills to: 
 

SAE Program 
Crime Victim Assistance Division 

Lucas State Office Building 
Ground Floor 

321 East 12th Street 
Des Moines, Iowa 50319 

 

515-281-5044 or 1-800-373-5044 
 
 

Visit our website at 
www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov 

Click on “Assisting Crime Victims” 
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Attorney General Tom Miller 
Crime Victim Assistance Division  

Lucas State Office Building 
Ground Floor 

321 East 12th Street 
Des Moines, Iowa 50319 
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