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ADUDRESS REPLY TO:
HOOVER BLDG.. SECOND FLOOR
1300 EAST WALNUT
DES MOINES, IOWA 50319

EPpartlnPnt nf zjuﬁtifP 515/201.5026

CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION

THOMAS J. MILLER
ATTORNEY GEMERAL

l _ September 25, 1985

Dear |

We have received your request for an opinion on the question
whether a holder of a dishonored check may recover both treble
damages under the new Iowa Code section 554.3806 and a ten-dollar
($10.00) surcharge under Iowa Code section 554.3507(5) (1985).

Your guestions ask us to define what remedies a court may
order in a civil action. Thus, the issue would necessarily be
determined by a court in litigation in which the parties have a
right to be heard and to present argument. This office declines
to issue opinions in matters which are pending in 1litigation
because to do so could interfere with the jurisdiction of the
Court. 120 I.A.C. 1.5(3)(a); 1972 Op. Att'y. Gen. 686. For the
same reason, we would decline to issue an opinion here but will
instead provide you this advisory letter setting forth our views
to assist you in determining whether further legislation should
be sought. As this is a gquestion which will arise in litigation
between private parties, we would further caution that persons

- should seek the advice of their own attorney to guide their own
conduct and should not rely on this letter as definitively
resolving the issue. This letter is written to provide you our

-views on the legislation and not to provide persons guldance as
to what actions they should take to minimize the potential
consequences of their actions.

As you know, the legislature took action to protect the
holders of dishonored checks when it enacted new Code § 554.3806
(S.F. 309). Effective July 1, 1985, that section permits recov-
ery of treble damages in a c¢ivil action against the maker of a
dishonored check. The new Iowa Code § 554.3806, however, makes
no reference to § 554.3507(5) which, effective July 1, 1984,
created the statutory right of a holder of a dishonored check to
asgsess a surcharge against the maker.
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The new Iowa Code § 554.3806 is one of three known statutory
remedies for dishonored checks. The other remedieg are:

1) Iowa Code gsection 625,22 which provides
that in an action on a dishonored check,
the plaintiff may recover costs, attor-
neys fees and any other surcharges
permitted by law; and

2) Iowa Code section 554.3507(5) which
provides that the holder of a dishonored
check may assess a surcharge of no more
than $10.00 against the maker.

The issue raised by your gqguestion is the extent to which a person
may cumulate these remedies.

In 1984, Iowa Code § 625.22 was amended to expressly permit
recovery also of surcharges; however, new Iowa Code § 554.3806
contains no such provision. In addition, §§ 554.3806(1) and
(2} define the amount a plaintiff may recover as "damages triple
the amount for which the dishonored check...is drawn. However,
damages under this section shall not exceed by more than five
hundred ‘-dollars the amount of the check...." 1In a case where the
failure of the defendant to satisfy the dishonored check is found
to be due to economic hardship, recovery may be limited to the
amount of the dishonored check and the actual cost of the plain-
tiff in bringing the action. The limitations contained in new
§ 554.3806(1) and (2) suggest that the legislature did not intend
the surcharge to be available in addition to treble dJdamages.
Finally, new Iowa Code § 554.3806(4) expressly states that a
plaintiff may not recover both treble damages and the remedy
provided under Iowa Code § 625.22. The remedy under the latter
section includes the recovery of the § 554.3507 surcharge.

It appears that the legislative intent of the 1984 amendment
to § 625.22 was to provide that a plaintiff who sued to recover
payment on a dishonored check could also recover the surcharge
provided by § 557.3507(5). There is no guestion that Iowa Code
§§ 554.3507(5) and 625.22 (1985) must be read together. In con~
struing a statute, all provisions of the act of which it is a
part and other pertinent statutes must be considered. Maguire v.
Fulton, 179 N.wW.2d 508, 510 (Iowa 1970). However, 1t sSeenms
equally clear that when the Legislature created the new civil
remedy of treble damages in a civil action on a dishonored check
by specifically prohibiting the costs allowed in § 625.22, it
intended that a plaintiff in a suit seeking treble damages under
new Iowa Code § 554.3806 may not recover both treble damages and
the costs allowed by § 625.22 which include the § 554.3507(5)
surcharge. When the gquestion of what costs may be recovered
under a particular statute arises, the situation must fall
clearly within the terms of the statute before a specific cost

may be recovered. Goodwin v. Iowa State Highway Comm., 369

W.2d 8l6, 819 (Iowa 1985).
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Based on this construction of Iowa Code §§ 554.3507(5) and
625.22 (1985) and the new Iowa Code § 554.3806, we conclude that,
unless the maker cures the dishonor by the procedures set forth
in the new § 554.3806(1) (b), a holder of a dishonored check who
files suit under the new § 554.3806 may not recover in that law-
suit both the § 554.3507(5) surcharge and treble damages. The
Legislature may wish to clarify the statute by an express pro-
vision in the new § 554.3806 providing or denying the right to
recover a § 554.3507(5) surcharge in a treble damages action.
Again, please note that this is not an opinion of the Attorney
General.

Sincerely,

LINDA THOMAS LOWE
Assistant Attorney General
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