Skip to main content
Iowa Attorney General
Main Content

Crime Victim Compensation

If you or a loved one has suffered personal injury from a violent crime, the Crime Victim Compensation Program may be able to help.  The program helps victims with certain out-of-pocket expenses related to injuries from violent crime.  It is funded entirely by fines and penalties paid by criminals (not by taxpayers).

The program pays for crime-related expenses such as medical care, counseling, lost wages, and funeral expenses (when costs are not covered by insurance or other sources).  The program can also pay for crime-scene clean-up, replacement of clothing held as evidence, replacement of security items, child or dependent care, housing/shelter expenses, relocation expenses and travel.

Applying for Crime Victim Compensation

  • Complete a physical or online application.
  • Sign all three releases.
  • Submit the physical application and releases to the Crime Victim Compensation Program to the address, fax, or email address listed at the bottom of this page.
  • For the online application, complete the information fields and submit.
  • After reviewing the application, we may request additional information.

For the online application, click on the link to the left or follow the link here

Compensation quick guide. 

Rules that govern the Crime Victim Assistance Program are listed in the Iowa Administrative Code.

(If you have a consumer-related question, complaint, or suspect you may be the victim of consumer fraud, please contact the Consumer Protection Division.)

 

Compensation Team

Program Administrator:
Lisa Bickelhaupt
lisa.bickelhaupt@ag.iowa.gov
 

Compensation Specialists:
 
Stacey Anderson stacey.anderson@ag.iowa.gov 
Brenda Bash-Cooper brenda.bashcooper@ag.iowa.gov
Morgan Halifax morgan.halifax@ag.iowa.gov
Brenda Hernandez brenda.hernandez@ag.iowa.gov
Kirstin Isenhart kirstin.isenhart@ag.iowa.gov 
Aaron Koch aaron.koch@ag.iowa.gov
Tabby Kuehl tabby.kuehl@ag.iowa.gov
Danielle Panameno danielle.panameno@ag.iowa.gov 
Monica VandenBranden monica.vandenbranden@ag.iowa.gov

 

 

Contact Information

Office of the Attorney General of Iowa
Victim Assistance Section
Lucas State Office Building
321 East 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319

Phone: 515-281-5044
Toll-Free: 800-373-5044
FAX: 515-281-8199
Sitemap
Quick Exit
© 2024 State of Iowa Office of the Attorney General. All rights reserved.