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SUMMARY OF IOWA'S TOBACCO LAWS 
 
Prepared By: 
 
Brian Meyer 
Assistant Attorney General/ Legislative Liaison 
Iowa Department of Justice 
 
Donald D. Stanley, Jr. 
Assistant Attorney General 
Iowa Department of Justice 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
RELEVANT DEFINITIONS: 
 
Retail Permit:  Cigarette/tobacco/nicotine/vapor permits issued to retailers by their local 
licensing authority. 
 
Person:  Every individual, firm, association, joint stock company, syndicate, 
co-partnership, corporation, trustee, agency or receiver, or respective legal 
representative. 
 
Cigarette Vending Machines:  Any self-service device, that takes money and 
dispenses cigarettes or tobacco products. 
 
Cigarettes:  Any roll for smoking made wholly or in part of tobacco, or any substitute for 
tobacco, regardless of size or shape and regardless of the mix of ingredients.  Cigars 
are excluded. 
 
Tobacco Products:  Cigars, little cigars, cheroots, stogies, periques, granulated, plug 
cut, crimp cut, ready rubbed, and other smokeless tobacco, snuff, snuff flower, 
cavendish, plug and twist tobacco, fine cut and other chewing tobaccos, shorts, or 
refuse scraps, clippings, cuttings and sweepings of tobacco, and other kinds and forms 
of tobacco, prepared in such manner as to be suitable for chewing or smoking in a pipe 
or otherwise, or both for chewing and smoking.  Cigarettes are excluded from this 
definition. 
 
Vapor Products: Any noncombustible product, which may or may not contain nicotine, 
that employs a heating element, power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, 
chemical, or mechanical means, regardless of shape or size, that can be used to 
produce vapor from a solution or other substance. “Vapor product” includes an 
electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar 
product or device, and any cartridge or other container of a solution or other substance, 
which may or may not contain nicotine, that is intended to be used with or in an 
electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar 
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product or device. “Vapor product” does not include a product regulated as a drug or 
device by the United States food and drug administration under chapter V of the federal 
Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act. 
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COMPARISON OF THE NEW LAW 
AND THE OLD LAW 

 
 
CIVIL PROSECUTION OF CIGARETTE PERMIT HOLDERS: 
 
NEW LAW: 
 
If a RETAILER or an EMPLOYEE of a RETAILER has committed any of the following 
violations:  453A.22(2) 
 
• Sells, gives, or otherwise supplies any tobacco, tobacco products, 

alternative nicotine products, vapor products, or cigarettes to an individual 
under the age of 21.  453A.2(1) 

• Had vending machines that contains tobacco, tobacco products, 
alternative nicotine products, vapor products, and cigarettes located in a 
place where persons under 21 are present or permitted AT ANY TIME.  
453A.36(6) 

 
The following penalties shall be assessed: 
 
• 1st violation:  $300.00 fine.  Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(a). 
 
• 2nd violation within 2 years:  $1,500.00 fine or 30-day suspension.  Iowa Code 

section 453A.22(2)(b). 
 
• 3rd violation within 3 years:  $1,500.00 fine and 30-day suspension.  Iowa Code 

section 453A.22(2)(c). 
 
• 4th violation within 3 years:  $1,500.00 fine and 60-day suspension.  Iowa Code 

section 453A.22(2)(d). 
 
• 5th violation within 4 years:  Revocation.  Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(e). 
 
OLD LAW: 
 
• For a first violation, the retailer shall be assessed a civil penalty in the amount of 

$300.00.  Failure to pay this penalty as ordered shall result in automatic 
suspension of the permit for 14 days.  Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(a). 

 
• For a second violation within a period of two years, the retailer’s permit shall be 

suspended for a period of 30 days.  Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(b). 
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• For a third violation within a period of three years, the retailer’s permit shall be 
suspended for a period of 60 days.  Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(c). 

 
• For a fourth violation within a period of three years, the retailer’s permit shall be 

revoked.  Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(d). 
 

NEW PROCEDURAL LAW 
 
Now local licensing authorities will have 60 days from the time the underlying violation 
of selling tobacco to a minor is adjudicated before assessing the civil penalty against the 
retailer.  If local authorities fail to act within 60 days, the prosecution is automatically 
transferred to the state.  (Section 1 of SF 401).  This new process of transferring 
violations to exclusive state authority also applies to pending violations. (Section 5, 
subsection 1 of SF 401). 
 

NEW AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSES 
 

The new law provides that retailers may assert an affirmative defense of training as a 
bar to prosecution of the civil sanction for selling to a minor.  To qualify, the employee 
who sold must have received training in training program authorized by the Alcoholic 
Beverages Division.  453A.22(3).  This defense can be asserted only once by a retailer 
at a particular retail location in a four-year period.  Retailers own training programs may 
qualify for the defense during the next one-year period, if the retailer's own training is 
substantially similar to that authorized by the Alcoholic Beverages Division.  (Section 4 
of SF 401).  The retailer may only assert either the affirmative defense under this 
provision or the one discussed above once at each retail location during a four-year 
period.  The affirmative defense only applies to violations occurring after the enactment 
of this legislation as there is no provision applying it to pending violations. 
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CIVIL PROSECUTION OF TOBACCO VIOLATIONS CHECKLIST: 
      
Find out if there are violations in your jurisdiction: 
 
 ABD will forward violations within your jurisdiction as they are reported by the law 

enforcement agency issuing the citations. 
 
 Ask the county clerk’s office to forward all criminal citations involving Iowa Code 

sections 453A.2(1) or 453A.36(6) that fall within the jurisdiction of the permit 
issuing authority. 

 
 Contact Connie Larson at the Iowa Attorney General’s office (515) 281-5846 to 

be put on the mailing list to be advised of when the criminal portion of these 
violations has been adjudicated. 

 
Settlement Negotiations: 
 
 Attempt to settle the case prior to scheduling a hearing before the permit issuing 

authority by serving a notice and hearing complaint by certified mail upon the 
permittee at the location of the business and address of the legal owner as found 
on cigarette/tobacco/nicotine/vapor permit application and sending the same 
notice and hearing complaint to the permit issuing authority (See sample). 

   
   Notice Cover 
   Hearing complaint  

 Copy of cigarette/tobacco/nicotine/vapor permit application  
 Copy of cigarette/tobacco/nicotine/vapor permit  
 Copy of criminal citation written:  simple misdemeanor/scheduled 

violation Iowa Code section 453A.2(1) (obtained from the county 
clerk) 

 Copy of disposition from the criminal action  
 Acknowledgment and settlement agreement form 

 
 The only acceptable settlements are the penalties prescribed by law: 
   
   1st violation: $300.00 fine 
   2nd violation within 2 years:  $1,500.00 fine or 30-day 

suspension 
   3rd violation within 3 years:  $1,500.00 fine and 30-

day suspension 
   4th violation within 3 years:  $1,500.00 fine and 60-

day suspension 
   5th violation within 4 years:  Revocation 
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First Violation: 
 
 If the permittee wishes to settle  a 1st, offense the settlement must be 

accompanied by: 
   
 a signed acknowledgment/settlement agreement  
 a $300.00 check  
 The agreement can then be presented with an order accepting the 

settlement to the issuing authority (see sample order). 
 
Second Violation: 
 
 If the permittee wishes to settle a second violation by 30-day suspension, the 

settlement must be presented to the issuing authority for the dates by which the 
suspension will be served (see sample order).  If the permittee wishes to settle 
with a $1,500.00 fine, the $1,500.00 must be presented with the settlement 
agreement. 

 
Third Violation: 
 
 If the permittee wishes to settle a third violation by $1,500.00 fine and 30-day 

suspension, the settlement must be presented to the issuing authority for the 
dates by which the suspension will be served (see sample order). 

 
Fourth Violation: 
 
 If the permittee wishes to settle a fourth violation by $1,500.00 fine and a 60-day 

suspension, the settlement must be presented to the issuing authority for the 
dates by which the suspension will be served (see sample order). 

 
Fifth Violation: 
 
 If the permittee wishes to settle a fifth violation within four years by revocation, 

the settlement must be presented to the issuing authority for the revocation to be 
enforced. 

 
Forfeiture: 
 
 If the permittee wishes to voluntarily forfeit the permit in lieu of any of the above 

penalties, the forfeiture will be for no less than 1 year. 
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Hearing phase: 
 
 Because these are civil penalties imposed administratively through the permit 

issuing authority, the permittee is afforded constitutional procedural due process 
rights: 1. Notice; 2. Opportunity to be heard.  Procedural due process and other 
defenses have been raised and successfully overcome. 

 
 Under Iowa Law two elements must be proven with substantial evidence to 

impose a civil penalty on a retailer for selling tobacco to a minor:   
 
 Sale to a minor 
 Sale made by permittee or employee of a permittee   
 
 Before the scheduled hearing, obtain certified copies of: 
 
 cigarette/tobacco/nicotine/vapor permit 
 criminal citation  
 criminal disposition  
 
 For a second or subsequent violation a certified copy of the order 

pertaining to the first and/or subsequent violation from the issuing 
authority must be included in the evidence presented to prove a previous 
violation. 

 
 Present these certified copies of the above evidence to the council.  Substantial 

evidence is necessary to prove a violation.     
 
Post-hearing phase: 
 
Obtain an order from the council and request the clerk of the permit issuing authority 
forward the order from the council to the prosecuting entity and the permit holder. 
 
 For a first offense the fine must be paid or there is an automatic suspension of 

the permit for 14 days.  The 14-day suspension is an additional penalty for not 
paying the assessed fine.  It is not the alternative to the $300.00 fine. 

 
 Any appeal from a retailer of the decision by the city council/board of supervisors 

must be done by Writ of Certiorari through the district court. 
 
Failure to assess a civil penalty within 60 days of the adjudication of the criminal 
action will transfer jurisdiction to the State by operation of law.  See Iowa Code 
section 453A. 
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TOBACCO PROSECUTION FLOW CHART 
FOR CIVIL PROSECUTION OF 

CIGARETTE PERMIT HOLDERS 
 
 
• IMMEDIATELY AFTER A FAILED COMPLIANCE CHECK, THE CLERK 

SHOULD BE CRIMINALLY TICKETED. 
 
• IT IS BEST TO WAIT FOR THE CLERK TO EITHER PLEAD GUILTY OR BE 

CONVICTED BEFORE PROCEEDING AGAINST THE RETAILER. 
 
• THEN USE THIS CRIMINAL DISPOSITION FROM THE COURT AS THE 

EVIDENCE AGAINST RETAILER. 
 
• REFER TO CASE AT END OF MANUAL ALLOWING VICARIOUS LIABILITY IN 

CIVIL PROCEEDING WHEN THERE HAS BEEN A CRIMINAL CONVICTION. 
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

FOR CITIES AND COUNTIES PURSUING 
SANCTIONS AGAINST RETAILERS  
WHO HAVE SOLD CIGARETTES OR 

TOBACCO TO MINORS 
 

prepared by Donald D. Stanley, Jr., Assistant Attorney General 
January 16, 2002 

Revised April, 2003 
 

 
 1.  Why are these cases being prosecuted in front of the local licensing 
bodies if prosecuted by local authorities? 
 
 In Iowa, cigarette/tobacco/nicotine/vapor permits are issued locally.  Cities issue 
permits to retailers within their corporate limits.  Counties issue permits to retailers in 
unincorporated areas.  The only state issued retail permit is the one held by Amtrak for 
its club car that travels across several Iowa counties. 
 
 2.  How long does a city have to decide whether it wants to prosecute? 
 
 Sixty days then jurisdiction transfers to the State by operation of law. 
 
 3.  Does the council have to impose the sanction? 
 
 Yes, if the council finds there was a violation of Iowa Code section 453A.2(1), 
selling or giving cigarettes or tobacco to a minor by a permit holder or employee of a 
permit holder, then Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(a) requires that the permit holder 
SHALL be assessed a civil penalty of three hundred dollars ($300.00) for a first 
violation.  Subsequent penalties for second through fifth violations are also mandatory 
under Iowa law. 
 
 (a)  Council needs to find a violation of 453A.2(1) was committed; 
 (b)  Council needs to impose the prescribed penalty. 
 
 4.  Can the city suspend the sanction/fine? 
 
 No, the penalties are mandatory and the local licensing bodies have no authority 
to suspend or modify the fines or suspensions specifically outlined in the Iowa Code. 
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 5.  Will the State pursue the sanctions even if the local city or county 
attorney declines to do so? 
 
 Yes, if the local city or county attorney cannot or will not pursue the retail 
sanctions for whatever reason,(lack of resources, conflict, direction of local licensing 
body, etc.), the Iowa Attorney General’s office will pursue the retail sanctions in front of 
an administrative law judge. 
 
 The Iowa Attorney General’s office will act on behalf of the Iowa Alcoholic 
Beverages Division (“ABD”)  under authority granted by a 28E agreement reached 
between ABD and the Iowa Department of Public Health.  The Health Department has 
authority to pursue violations before the local licensing body under Iowa Code section 
453A.2(4). 
 
 Either the local City or County Attorney or the Attorney General will prosecute 
each violation of 453A.22. 
 
 6.  Where does the fine money go? 
 
 If the city or county attorney prosecutes the case for the civil sanctions the fine is 
paid to the local licensing body.  If the Attorney General’s office prosecutes the case the 
fine is paid to the Treasurer, State of Iowa and deposited in the tobacco training and 
compliance fund. 
 
 7.  How do I find out if there have been violations in my jurisdiction? 
 
 Check with local law enforcement if they conducted the compliance checks.  If 
the State Patrol conducted the compliance checks, contact Jessica Ekman at the ABD 
at (515) 281-7434 or call Connie Larson at (515) 281-5846. 
 
 8.  Where can I find sample forms? 
 
The prosecution manual can be accessed by going to the Iowa Attorney General’s 
website, www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov.  At this website, go to About Us, and then 
Divisions. Click on Revenue and Tobacco Enforcement Division.  Under Related 
Documents on the right side, click on Tobacco Enforcement.  Clicking on this document 
will open the prosecution manual and it may be printed or downloaded.  If you need a 
hard copy of the prosecution manual, please call Connie Larson at (515) 281-5846 or  
e-mail at connie.larson@ag.iowa.gov. 

http://www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov/
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 9.  If the retailer fails to pay, how do I collect?  
 
 If the retailer fails to pay the $300.00 civil penalty, a judgment may be pursued in 
small claims court. 
 
 10.  Is the $300.00 fine applicable even if the retailer serves the 14-day 
suspension for not paying within thirty days after the sanction is imposed?   
 
 Serving the fourteen day suspension does not wipe out the obligation to pay the 
$300.00 fine for a first offense.  It is not an either-or proposition.  The fourteen-day 
suspension is an additional penalty for not paying the fine in a timely manner. 
 
 11.  What happens if the retailer has forfeited its permit or gone out of 
business? 
 
 If the retailer forfeited its cigarette permit or has gone out of business the local 
licensing body should still find the penalty and assess the sanction, however, the local 
authority may choose not to pursue the fine through the small claims court process. 
 
 12.  What if the ownership of the retail business has changed since the 
citation was issued? 
 
 If there is new ownership, the new owners cannot be held liable for a violation 
that occurred before they were the owners of the business.  It also may be impossible to 
pursue sanctions against the former owners if they no longer hold a permit.  This is a 
reason to pursue violations in the most timely fashion possible. 
 
 13.  What rules apply for the hearing? 
 
 Most importantly, defendants are entitled to ten day’s notice and an opportunity 
to be heard according to Iowa Code section 453A.22.  Defendants may be represented 
by legal counsel at their own expense.  Hearsay rules do not apply to the hearing 
because the sanctions are administrative not criminal. 
 
 14.  What are some common defenses and how do I rebut? 
  
 Honest Mistake – Retailer claims to have made one honest mistake with no 
intention to make a sale to a minor. 
  In most cases, this is probably true.  However, the Iowa Code does not have an 
exception to the prescribed penalty for those retailers who just made a mistake.  Having 
the intent to sell is not an element of this offense.  The only two elements are: 1) a 
minor was given or sold cigarettes or tobacco 2) by the permit holder or an employee of 
the permit holder. 
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Vicarious Liability – Retailer claims it is wrong for it to be held liable for the 
mistake of the clerk.  This defense is often combined with evidence that the retailer 
trained and instructed the employee to check identification before selling cigarettes and 
tobacco products. 
 The Iowa Code prescribes this vicarious liability by not only providing a penalty to 
the person that makes the sale (453A.3(1)(b)), but also to the retailer (453A.22(2).  Iowa 
case law supports the imposition of these penalties.  See Randall’s Intl Inc. v. Iowa 
Liquor Control Dept., 429 N.W.2d 163. 
 
 
 Non-profit Organization – Retailer claims it is a nonprofit business that 
does good works for the community. 
 
 The Iowa Code makes no distinction for nonprofit businesses.  These permit-
holders have the same responsibilities and must face the same penalties as other  
businesses where a sale is made. 
 
 Good Corporate Citizen – Some businesses believe they should get a break 
because they are good corporate citizens.  They employ a lot of people, pay a lot 
of taxes and support various community projects. 
 
 While all of these things are commendable, again the Iowa Code does not allow 
for different or reduced penalties for good corporate citizens. 
 
 Entrapment – Some defendants claim the use of undercover youth 
attempting to purchase cigarettes is entrapment. 
 
 However, the Iowa Supreme Court has ruled that the use of undercover youths in 
alcohol stings is not entrapment.  See Jim O. Inc. v. City of Cedar Rapids, 587 N.W.2d 
476. 
 
 Fake ID – Some defendants claim the undercover youth used a Fake ID 

when trying  to purchase the cigarettes.  
  
 All the youth participating in the program use their real identification.  The law 
enforcement partners examine the identification before and after the sting is completed. 
 
 The only affirmative defense is for training.  It can be used only once within 
a four year period. 
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 15.  Under what circumstances may a retailer assert the affirmative defense 
of training? 
 
 If the employee who sold received training and if the training was substantially 
similar to the training offered by the ABD the retailer may assert the defense.  After 
April 11, 2004, the employee must have received training from an authorized ABD 
program.  A retailer may assert this defense only once in a four year period. 
 
 16.  May a retailer assert the affirmative defense of training for violations 
that occurred before the new law was enacted? 
 
 No.  The defense may only be asserted for new violations of the law. 
 
 17.  For the affirmative defense, how does the licensing authority calculate 
the four year period? 
 
 The four year period begins on the date the affirmative defense is asserted. 
 
 18.  Does the retailer have the right to appeal the decision of the council? 
 
 The only avenue of appeal is filing a Writ of Certiorari with the district court if the 
defendant argues the decision of the city council was illegal. 
 
 19.  What if the criminal citation was dismissed, a deferred judgment was 
given, or the defendant in the criminal trial was found not guilty? 
 
 Civil sanctions can be pursued independently of what happens with the criminal 
prosecution of the clerk.  Whether or not sanctions are pursued depend on whether a 
sale was made to a minor. 
 
 20.  Does a retailer need to remove cigarette and tobacco products from its 
shelves while serving a suspension of its license? 
 
 No, but the retailer may want to remove the product for its own protection.  If a 
sale is made (even to an adult) while a business is under suspension, the retailer faces 
more penalties. 
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SAMPLE NOTICES OF HEARING 
1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4TH & 5th 

VIOLATIONS 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 NOTICES OF HEARING SHOULD BE SENT TO PERMIT HOLDER GIVING AT 

LEAST TEN DAYS NOTICE PRIOR TO HEARING DATE. 
 
 MORE NOTICE TIME IS RECOMMENDED WHEN ATTEMPTING TO SETTLE. 
 
 INCLUDE WITH NOTICE, THE COMPLAINT AND THE SETTLEMENT/ 

ACKNOWLEDGMENT AGREEMENT. 
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SAMPLE NOTICE OF HEARING 
1st VIOLATION 

 
Permit Holder 
Address 
City, Iowa  Zip 
 
  Re: Retail Business Name 
   Retail Business Address 
   City, Iowa Zip 
 
The CITY or COUNTY has scheduled a hearing before the City Council or County 
Board of Supervisors at Time on Day of Week, Month, Day, 20xx, City Council 
Chambers or County Supervisors’ Board Room.  The hearing complaint, which has 
been filed against you, is attached. 
 
If you or your representative fail to appear at this hearing, a decision may be rendered 
against you.  You have the opportunity to be heard at this hearing and to be 
represented by an attorney at your own expense regarding the mandatory $300.00 civil 
penalty prescribed by Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(a) for the violation of Iowa Code 
section 453A.2(1), selling, giving, or otherwise supplying any tobacco, tobacco 
products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, or cigarettes to any person 
under twenty-one years of age. 
 
If you wish to settle this case in lieu of the public hearing, you may complete the 
attached Acknowledgment/Settlement Agreement, returning the original copy, properly 
signed and dated, to City or County Attorney, address, no later than ten (10) business 
days prior to the hearing date.  With this Acknowledgment/Settlement Agreement, you 
must include a check in the amount of $300.00, made out to the “City or County”.  This 
will satisfy the penalty for a first violation under Iowa Code section 453A.22(2), and will 
conclude the matter. 
 
If you have any questions, you may reach me by phone at (xxx) xxx-xxxx, or if you have 
obtained representation by an attorney in this matter, he/she should contact me. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
CITY OR COUNTY ATTORNEY 
Address 
(xxx) xxx-xxx 
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SAMPLE NOTICE OF HEARING 
2nd VIOLATION 

 
Permit Holder 
Address 
City, Iowa  Zip 
 
  Re: Retail Business Name 
   Retail Business Address 
   City, Iowa Zip 
 
The CITY or COUNTY has scheduled a hearing before the City Council or County 
Board of Supervisors at Time on Day of Week, Month, Day, 20xx, City Council 
Chambers or County Supervisors’ Board Room.  The hearing complaint, which has 
been filed against you, is attached. 
 
If you or your representative fail to appear at this hearing, a decision may be rendered 
against you.  You have the opportunity to be heard at this hearing and to be 
represented by an attorney at your own expense regarding the mandatory civil penalty 
of a $1,500.00 fine or a 30 day cigarette permit suspension prescribed by Iowa Code 
section 453A.22(2)(b) for the violation of Iowa Code section 453A.2(1), selling, giving, or 
otherwise supplying any tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor 
products, or cigarettes to any person under twenty-one years of age. 
 
If you wish to settle this case in lieu of the public hearing, you may complete the 
attached Acknowledgment/Settlement Agreement, returning the original copy, properly 
signed and dated, to City or County Attorney, address, no later than ten (10) business 
days prior to the hearing date.  Accepting and abiding by the terms of the 
Acknowledgment/Settlement Agreement will satisfy the penalty for a second violation 
under Iowa Code section 453A.22(2), and will conclude the matter. 
 
If you have any questions, you may reach me by phone at (xxx) xxx-xxxx, or if you have 
obtained representation by an attorney in this matter, he/she should contact me. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
CITY OR COUNTY ATTORNEY 
Address 
(xxx) xxx-xxx 
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SAMPLE NOTICE OF HEARING 
3rd VIOLATION 

 
Permit Holder 
Address 
City, Iowa  Zip 
 
  Re: Retail Business Name 
   Retail Business Address 
   City, Iowa Zip 
 
The CITY or COUNTY has scheduled a hearing before the City Council or County 
Board of Supervisors at Time on Day of Week, Month, Day, 20xx, City Council 
Chambers or County Supervisors’ Board Room.  The hearing complaint, which has 
been filed against you, is attached. 
 
If you or your representative fail to appear at this hearing, a decision may be rendered 
against you.  You have the opportunity to be heard at this hearing and to be 
represented by an attorney at your own expense regarding the mandatory civil penalty 
of a $1,500.00 fine and a 30 day cigarette permit suspension prescribed by Iowa Code 
section 453A.22(2)(c) for the violation of Iowa Code section 453A.2(1), selling, giving, or 
otherwise supplying any tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor 
products, or cigarettes to any person under twenty-one years of age. 
 
If you wish to settle this case in lieu of the public hearing, you may complete the 
attached Acknowledgment/Settlement Agreement, returning the original copy, properly 
signed and dated, to City or County Attorney, address, no later than ten (10) business 
days prior to the hearing date.  Accepting and abiding by the terms of the 
Acknowledgment/Settlement Agreement will satisfy the penalty for a third violation 
under Iowa Code section 453A.22(2), and will conclude the matter. 
 
If you have any questions, you may reach me by phone at (xxx) xxx-xxxx, or if you have 
obtained representation by an attorney in this matter, he/she should contact me. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
CITY OR COUNTY ATTORNEY 
Address 
(xxx) xxx-xxx 
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SAMPLE NOTICE OF HEARING 
4th VIOLATION 

 
Permit Holder 
Address 
City, Iowa  Zip 
 
  Re: Retail Business Name 
   Retail Business Address 
   City, Iowa Zip 
 
The CITY or COUNTY has scheduled a hearing before the City Council or County 
Board of Supervisors at Time on Day of Week, Month, Day, 20xx, City Council 
Chambers or County Supervisors’ Board Room.  The hearing complaint, which has 
been filed against you, is attached. 
 
If you or your representative fail to appear at this hearing, a decision may be rendered 
against you.  You have the opportunity to be heard at this hearing and to be 
represented by an attorney at your own expense regarding the mandatory civil penalty 
of a $1,500.00 fine and a 60 day cigarette permit suspension prescribed by Iowa Code 
section 453A.22(2)(d) for the violation of Iowa Code section 453A.2(1), selling, giving, or 
otherwise supplying any tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor 
products, or cigarettes to any person under twenty-one years of age. 
 
If you wish to settle this case in lieu of the public hearing, you may complete the 
attached Acknowledgment/Settlement Agreement, returning the original copy, properly 
signed and dated, to City or County Attorney, address, no later than ten (10) business 
days prior to the hearing date.  Accepting and abiding by the terms of the 
Acknowledgment/Settlement Agreement will satisfy the penalty for a fourth violation 
under Iowa Code section 453A.22(2), and will conclude the matter. 
 
If you have any questions, you may reach me by phone at (xxx) xxx-xxxx, or if you have 
obtained representation by an attorney in this matter, he/she should contact me. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
CITY OR COUNTY ATTORNEY 
Address 
(xxx) xxx-xxx 
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SAMPLE NOTICE OF HEARING 
5th VIOLATION 

 
Permit Holder 
Address 
City, Iowa  Zip 
 
  Re: Retail Business Name 
   Retail Business Address 
   City, Iowa Zip 
 
The CITY or COUNTY has scheduled a hearing before the City Council or County 
Board of Supervisors at Time on Day of Week, Month, Day, 20xx, City Council 
Chambers or County Supervisors’ Board Room.  The hearing complaint, which has 
been filed against you, is attached. 
 
If you or your representative fail to appear at this hearing, a decision may be rendered 
against you.  You have the opportunity to be heard at this hearing and to be 
represented by an attorney at your own expense regarding the mandatory revocation of 
your cigarette permit prescribed by Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(e) for the violation of 
Iowa Code section 453A.2(1), selling, giving, or otherwise supplying any tobacco, 
tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, or cigarettes to any 
person under twenty-one years of age. 
 
If you wish to settle this case in lieu of the public hearing, you may complete the 
attached Acknowledgment/Settlement Agreement, returning the original copy, properly 
signed and dated, to City or County Attorney, address, no later than ten (10) business 
days prior to the hearing date.  Accepting and abiding by the terms of the 
Acknowledgment/Settlement Agreement will satisfy the penalty for a fifth violation under 
Iowa Code section 453A.22(2), and will conclude the matter. 
 
If you have any questions, you may reach me by phone at (xxx) xxx-xxxx, or if you have 
obtained representation by an attorney in this matter, he/she should contact me. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
CITY OR COUNTY ATTORNEY 
Address 
(xxx) xxx-xxx 
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SAMPLE HEARING COMPLAINTS 
1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4TH & 5th 

VIOLATIONS 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 SEND HEARING COMPLAINTS ALONG WITH NOTICE OF HEARING LETTER 

AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT. 
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SAMPLE HEARING COMPLAINT 
1st VIOLATION 

 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
Permit Holder    : Legal Address 
Address     : (Obtained from permit) 
City, Iowa  Zip    : HEARING COMPLAINT 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

 The CITY OR COUNTY hereby makes the following complaint against the 

above-named permittee. 

 1.  Iowa Code section 453A.2(1) provides that a person shall not “sell, give, or 

otherwise supply any tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor 

products, or cigarettes to any person under twenty-one years of age.” 

 2.  Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(a) provides that if a permit holder or employee 

of a permit holder has violated Iowa Code section 453A.2(1), the permit holder shall be 

assessed a civil penalty of three hundred dollars ($300.00) for a first violation of Iowa 

Code section 453A.2(1). 

 3.  On or about Month, Day, 20xx, the permittee or an employee of the permittee 

sold tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, or 

cigarettes to a person under twenty-one years of age.  A copy of the Compliance Check 

or Criminal Conviction is attached and incorporated herein. 

 4.  Therefore, in accordance with Iowa law, the CITY OR COUNTY requests the 

Blank City Council or the Blank County Board of Supervisors find a violation of the 

above-referenced sections of Iowa Code chapter 453A and assess a civil penalty in the 

amount of three hundred dollars ($300.00) against Blank (the retail permit-holder). 
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__________________________ 
CITY OR COUNTY ATTORNEY 
Address 
Phone 
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SAMPLE HEARING COMPLAINT 
2nd VIOLATION 

 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
Permit Holder    : Legal Address 
Address     : (Obtained from permit) 
City, Iowa  Zip    : HEARING COMPLAINT 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

 The CITY OR COUNTY hereby makes the following complaint against the 

above-named permittee. 

 1.  Iowa Code section 453A.2(1) provides that a person shall not “sell, give, or 

otherwise supply any tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor 

products, or cigarettes to any person under twenty-one years of age.” 

2.  Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(b) provides that if a permit holder or employee 

of a permit holder has violated Iowa Code section 453A.2(1), the permit holder shall be 

assessed a civil penalty of a one thousand, five hundred dollars ($1,500.00) fine or a 

thirty day cigarette permit suspension for a second violation of Iowa Code section 

453A.2(1) within two years. 

 3.  On or about Month, Day, 20xx, the permittee or an employee of the permittee 

sold tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, or 

cigarettes to a person under twenty-one years of age.  A copy of the Compliance Check 

or Criminal Conviction is attached and incorporated herein. 

 4.  On Month, Day, Year, the permittee was issued a sanction for a first violation 

of Iowa Code section 453A.2. 

 5.  Therefore, in accordance with Iowa law, the CITY OR COUNTY requests the 

Blank City Council or the Blank County Board of Supervisors find a violation of the 

above-referenced sections of Iowa Code chapter 453A and assess a civil penalty in the 

amount of a one thousand, five hundred dollars ($1,500.00) fine or a thirty day cigarette 
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permit suspension against Blank (the retail permit-holder). 

 
__________________________ 
CITY OR COUNTY ATTORNEY 
Address 
Phone 
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SAMPLE HEARING COMPLAINT 
3rd VIOLATION 

 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
Permit Holder    : Legal Address 
Address     : (Obtained from permit) 
City, Iowa  Zip    : HEARING COMPLAINT 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

 The CITY OR COUNTY hereby makes the following complaint against the 

above-named permittee. 

 1.  Iowa Code section 453A.2(1) provides that a person shall not “sell, give, or 

otherwise supply any tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor 

products, or cigarettes to any person under twenty-one years of age.” 

 2.  Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(c) provides that if a permit holder or employee 

of a permit holder has violated Iowa Code section 453A.2(1), the permit holder shall be 

assessed a civil penalty of a one thousand, five hundred dollars ($1,500.00) fine and a 

thirty day cigarette permit suspension for a third violation of Iowa Code section 

453A.2(1) within three years. 

 3.  On or about Month, Day, 20xx, the permittee or an employee of the permittee 

sold tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, or 

cigarettes to a person under twenty-one years of age.  A copy of the Compliance Check 

or Criminal Conviction is attached and incorporated herein. 

 4.  On Month, Day, Year, the permittee was issued a sanction for a first violation 

of Iowa Code section 453A.2.  On Month, Day, Year, the permittee was issued a 

sanction for a second violation of Iowa Code section 453A.2. 

 5.  Therefore, in accordance with Iowa law, the CITY OR COUNTY requests the 

Blank City Council or the Blank County Board of Supervisors find a violation of the 

above-referenced sections of Iowa Code chapter 453A and assess a civil penalty in the  
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amount of a one thousand, five hundred dollars ($1,500.00) fine and a thirty day 

cigarette permit suspension against Blank (the retail permit-holder). 

 
__________________________ 
CITY OR COUNTY ATTORNEY 
Address 
Phone 
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SAMPLE HEARING COMPLAINT 
4th VIOLATION 

 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
Permit Holder    : Legal Address 
Address     : (Obtained from permit) 
City, Iowa  Zip    : HEARING COMPLAINT 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

 The CITY OR COUNTY hereby makes the following complaint against the 

above-named permittee. 

 1.  Iowa Code section 453A.2(1) provides that a person shall not “sell, give, or 

otherwise supply any tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor 

products, or cigarettes to any person under twenty-one years of age.” 

 2.  Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(d) provides that if a permit holder or employee 

of a permit holder has violated Iowa Code section 453A.2(1), the permit holder shall be 

assessed a civil penalty of a one thousand, five hundred dollars ($1,500.00) fine and a 

sixty day cigarette permit suspension for a fourth violation of Iowa Code section 

453A.2(1) within three years. 

 3.  On or about Month, Day, 20xx, the permittee or an employee of the permittee 

sold tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, or 

cigarettes to a person under twenty-one years of age.  A copy of the Compliance Check 

or Criminal Conviction is attached and incorporated herein. 

 4.  On Month, Day, Year, the permittee was issued a sanction for a first violation 

of Iowa Code section 453A.2.  On Month, Day, Year, the permittee was issued a 

sanction for a second violation of Iowa Code section 453A.2.  On Month, Day, Year, the 

permittee was issued a sanction for a third violation of Iowa Code section 453A.2. 

 5.  Therefore, in accordance with Iowa law, the CITY OR COUNTY requests the 

Blank City Council or the Blank County Board of Supervisors find a violation of the 
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above-referenced sections of Iowa Code chapter 453A and assess a civil penalty in the 

amount of a one thousand, five hundred dollars ($1,500.00) fine and a sixty day 

cigarette permit suspension against Blank (the retail permit-holder). 

 
__________________________ 
CITY OR COUNTY ATTORNEY 
Address 
Phone 
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SAMPLE HEARING COMPLAINT 
5th VIOLATION 

 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
Permit Holder    : Legal Address 
Address     : (Obtained from permit) 
City, Iowa  Zip    : HEARING COMPLAINT 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

 The CITY OR COUNTY hereby makes the following complaint against the 

above-named permittee. 

 1.  Iowa Code section 453A.2(1) provides that a person shall not “sell, give, or 

otherwise supply any tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor 

products, or cigarettes to any person under twenty-one years of age.” 

 2.  Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(e) provides that if a permit holder or employee 

of a permit holder has violated Iowa Code section 453A.2(1), the permit holder shall be 

assessed a civil penalty of a cigarette permit revocation for a fifth violation of Iowa Code 

section 453A.2(1) within four years. 

 3.  On or about Month, Day, 20xx, the permittee or an employee of the permittee 

sold tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, or 

cigarettes to a person under twenty-one years of age.  A copy of the Compliance Check 

or Criminal Conviction is attached and incorporated herein. 

 4.  On Month, Day, Year, the permittee was issued a sanction for a first violation 

of Iowa Code section 453A.2.  On Month, Day, Year, the permittee was issued a 

sanction for a second violation of Iowa Code section 453A.2.  On Month, Day, Year, the 

permittee was issued a sanction for a third violation of Iowa Code section 453A.2.  On 

Month, Day, Year, the permittee was issued a sanction for a fourth violation of Iowa 

Code section 453A.2. 

 5.  Therefore, in accordance with Iowa law, the CITY OR COUNTY requests the 



 
33 

Blank City Council or the Blank County Board of Supervisors find a violation of the 

above-referenced sections of Iowa Code chapter 453A and assess a civil penalty of a 

cigarette permit revocation against Blank (the retail permit-holder). 

 
__________________________ 
CITY OR COUNTY ATTORNEY 
Address 
Phone 
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SAMPLE ACKNOWLEDGMENT/ 
SETTLEMENT AGREEMENTS 

1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4TH & 5th 
VIOLATIONS 

_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 SEND ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT ALONG WITH THE 

HEARING COMPLAINT AND THE NOTICE OF HEARING LETTER. 
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SAMPLE ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT 
AGREEMENT 
1st VIOLATION 

 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
      : Legal Address 
Permit Holder    : (Obtained from permit) 
Address     : ACKNOWLEDGMENT/ 
City, Iowa  Zip    : SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 

ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT 
 
 I (We) hereby knowingly and voluntarily acknowledge that we have received the 
Notice of Hearing and the Complaint in the above case.  I (We) hereby knowingly and 
voluntarily acknowledge the facts and allegations contained in the complaint, attached 
hereto and incorporated herein by reference, and knowingly and voluntarily admit that 
the same are true and correct.  I (We) hereby knowingly and voluntarily waive hearing, 
and submit to the statutory penalties prescribed by Iowa law.  I (We) understand that the 
violation on XXX will count as an official "First Violation" of Iowa Code section 453A.2 
pursuant to Iowa Code section 453A.22.  I (We) have enclosed a check for the amount 
of $300.00 made payable to the CITY OR COUNTY to settle the above- referenced 
complaint.  I (We) understand that in order to conclude this matter the MAYOR OR 
CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS must approve this settlement 
agreement. 
____________________________  ________________________________ 
 
____________________________  ________________________________ 
 
_________________ 
DATE 
 
NOTE:  This must be signed by an individual cigarette/tobacco/nicotine/vapor permittee, 
or in the case of another business entity, by individual(s) who have authority to bind the 
entity. 
 
If you decide to sign this ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT and 
waive your appearance at a hearing, this document, properly signed and dated, along 
with your $300.00 check made payable to the CITY OR COUNTY, should be returned 
to: 
 
CITY OR COUNTY ATTORNEY 
ADDRESS. 
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SAMPLE ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT 
AGREEMENT 

2nd VIOLATION 
 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
      : Legal Address 
Permit Holder    : (Obtained from permit) 
Address     : ACKNOWLEDGMENT/ 
City, Iowa  Zip    : SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT  
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT 
 
 I (We) hereby knowingly and voluntarily acknowledge that we have received the 
Notice of Hearing and the Complaint in the above case.  I (We) hereby knowingly and 
voluntarily acknowledge the facts and allegations contained in the complaint, attached 
hereto and incorporated herein by reference, and knowingly and voluntarily admit that 
the same are true and correct.  I (We) hereby knowingly and voluntarily waive hearing, 
and submit to the statutory penalties prescribed by Iowa law.  I (We) understand that the 
violation that occurred on XXX will count as an official “Second Violation” of Iowa Code 
section 453A.2 pursuant to Iowa Code section 453A.22.  I (We) understand that the 
penalty for this second violation is a $1,500.00 fine or a suspension of my (our) 
cigarette/tobacco/nicotine/vapor permit for 30 days, beginning on the date that will be 
specified in the official CITY/COUNTY order that I will receive.  I (We) understand that in 
order to conclude this matter the MAYOR OR CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD OF 
SUPERVISORS must approve this settlement agreement. 
 
____________________________  ________________________________ 
 
____________________________  ________________________________ 
 
 
_________________ 
DATE 
 
In accordance with Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(b), the above-captioned permittee 
chooses the following penalty: 
 
 $1,500 fine 
 
 30-day cigarette/tobacco/nicotine/vapor permit suspension 
NOTE:  This must be signed by an individual permittee, or in the case of another 
business entity, by individual(s) who have authority to bind the entity. 
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If you decide to sign this ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT and 
waive your appearance at a hearing, this document, properly signed and dated as well 
as a check in the amount of $1,500.00 (if choice of penalty is fine) should be returned 
to: 
 
CITY OR COUNTY ATTORNEY 
ADDRESS 
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SAMPLE ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT 
AGREEMENT 
3rd VIOLATION 

_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
      : Legal Address 
Permit Holder    : (Obtained from permit) 
Address     : ACKNOWLEDGMENT/ 
City, Iowa  Zip    : SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 

ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT 
 
 I (We) hereby knowingly and voluntarily acknowledge that we have received the 
Notice of Hearing and the Complaint in the above case.  I (We) hereby knowingly and 
voluntarily acknowledge the facts and allegations contained in the complaint, attached 
hereto and incorporated herein by reference, and knowingly and voluntarily admit that 
the same are true and correct.  I (We) hereby knowingly and voluntarily waive hearing, 
and submit to the statutory penalties prescribed by Iowa law.  I (We) understand that the 
violation that occurred on XXX will count as an official “Third Violation” of Iowa Code 
section 453A.2 pursuant to Iowa Code section 453A.22.  I (We) understand that the 
penalty for this third violation is a $1,500.00 fine and a suspension of my (our) 
cigarette/tobacco/nicotine/vapor permit for 30 days, beginning on the date that will be 
specified in the official CITY/COUNTY order that I will receive.  I (We) understand that in 
order to conclude this matter the MAYOR OR CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD OF 
SUPERVISORS must approve this settlement agreement. 
 
____________________________  ________________________________ 
 
____________________________  ________________________________ 
 
_________________ 
DATE 
 
NOTE:  This must be signed by an individual cigarette/tobacco/nicotine/vapor permittee, 
or in the case of another business entity, by individual(s) who have authority to bind the 
entity. 
 
If you decide to sign this ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT and 
waive your appearance at a hearing, this document, properly signed and dated along 
with a check in the amount of $1,500.00 should be returned to: 
 
CITY OR COUNTY ATTORNEY 
ADDRESS 
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SAMPLE ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT 
AGREEMENT 
4th VIOLATION 

_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
      : Legal Address 
Permit Holder    : (Obtained from permit) 
Address     : ACKNOWLEDGMENT/ 
City, Iowa  Zip    : SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 

ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT 
 
 I (We) hereby knowingly and voluntarily acknowledge that we have received the 
Notice of Hearing and the Complaint in the above case.  I (We) hereby knowingly and 
voluntarily acknowledge the facts and allegations contained in the complaint, attached 
hereto and incorporated herein by reference, and knowingly and voluntarily admit that 
the same are true and correct.  I (We) hereby knowingly and voluntarily waive hearing, 
and submit to the statutory penalties prescribed by Iowa law.  I (We) understand that the 
violation that occurred on XXX will count as an official “Fourth Violation” of Iowa Code 
section 453A.2 pursuant to Iowa Code section 453A.22.  I (We) understand that the 
penalty for this fourth violation is a $1,500.00 fine and a suspension of my (our) 
cigarette/tobacco/nicotine/vapor permit for 60 days, beginning on the date that will be 
specified in the official CITY/COUNTY order that I will receive.  I (We) understand that in 
order to conclude this matter the MAYOR OR CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD OF 
SUPERVISORS must approve this settlement agreement. 
 
____________________________  ________________________________ 
 
____________________________  ________________________________ 
 
_________________ 
DATE 
 
NOTE:  This must be signed by an individual cigarette/tobacco/nicotine/vapor permittee, 
or in the case of another business entity, by individual(s) who have authority to bind the 
entity. 
 
If you decide to sign this ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT and 
waive your appearance at a hearing, this document, properly signed and dated along 
with a check in the amount of $1,500.00 should be returned to: 
 
CITY OR COUNTY ATTORNEY 
ADDRESS 
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SAMPLE ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT 
AGREEMENT 
5th VIOLATION 

_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
      : Legal Address 
Permit Holder    : (Obtained from permit) 
Address     : ACKNOWLEDGMENT/ 
City, Iowa  Zip    : SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT 
 
 I (We) hereby knowingly and voluntarily acknowledge that we have received the 
Notice of Hearing and the Complaint in the above case.  I (We) hereby knowingly and 
voluntarily acknowledge the facts and allegations contained in the complaint, attached 
hereto and incorporated herein by reference, and knowingly and voluntarily admit that 
the same are true and correct.  I (We) hereby knowingly and voluntarily waive hearing, 
and submit to the statutory penalties prescribed by Iowa law.  I (We) understand that the 
violation that occurred on XXX will count as an official “Fifth Violation” of Iowa Code 
section 453A.2 pursuant to Iowa Code section 453A.22.  I (We) understand that the 
penalty for this fifth violation is revocation of my (our) cigarette/tobacco/nicotine/vapor 
permit, beginning on the date that will be specified in the official CITY/COUNTY order 
that I will receive.  I (We) understand that no individual may apply for a new cigarette 
permit for this location (address) until at least one year has passed, unless good cause 
can be shown to the contrary. 
 
____________________________  ________________________________ 
 
____________________________  ________________________________ 
 
_________________ 
DATE 
 
NOTE:  This must be signed by an individual cigarette permittee, or in the case of 
another business entity, by individual(s) who have authority to bind the entity. 
 
If you decide to sign this ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT and 
waive your appearance at a hearing, this document, properly signed and dated should 
be returned to: 
 
CITY OR COUNTY ATTORNEY 
ADDRESS 
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SAMPLE ORDERS TO PLACE 
BEFORE COUNCIL OR BOARD 

ASSESSING PENALTIES AFTER 
CONTESTED HEARINGS 

1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th & 5th 
VIOLATIONS 

_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 THESE ORDERS MAY BE PLACED BEFORE THE COUNCIL OR BOARD 

AFTER A CONTESTED HEARING. 
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SAMPLE ORDER ACCEPTING 
ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT 

AGREEMENT 
1ST  VIOLATION 

 
BEFORE THE ______________ CITY COUNCIL OR 

THE _______________ COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
      : Legal Address 
Retailer     : (Obtain from permit) 
Address     : ORDER ACCEPTING 
City, Iowa  Zip    : ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT 
      : AGREEMENT 
      : FIRST VIOLATION 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

 On this _____ day of ________________, 20xx, in lieu of a public hearing on the 

matter, the __________ City Council / ___________ County Board of Supervisors 

approves the attached Acknowledgment/Settlement Agreement between the 

above-captioned permittee and the CITY OR COUNTY. 

 THEREFORE, the _________ City Council / ____________ County Board of 

Supervisors, FINDS that the above-captioned permittee has remitted to the "CITY OR 

COUNTY" a civil penalty in the amount of three hundred dollars ($300.00) for a violation 

that occurred on XXX.  Be advised that this sanction will count as a first violation of Iowa 

Code section 453A.2(1), pursuant to Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(a). 

 IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the judgment in this matter is hereby 

satisfied. 

 

 
________________________________________ 
Mayor or Chairperson of the Board of Supervisors 
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SAMPLE ORDER ACCEPTING 
ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT 

AGREEMENT 
2nd  VIOLATION 

 
BEFORE THE ______________ CITY COUNCIL OR 

THE _______________ COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
      : Legal Address 
Retailer     : (Obtain from permit) 
Address     : ORDER ACCEPTING 
City, Iowa  Zip    : ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT 
      : AGREEMENT 
      :  SECOND VIOLATION 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

 On this _____ day of ________________, 20xx, in lieu of a public hearing on the 

matter, the __________ City Council / ___________ County Board of Supervisors 

approves the attached Acknowledgment/Settlement Agreement between the 

above-captioned permittee and the CITY OR COUNTY. 

 Pursuant to the Agreement, IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that a civil penalty of 

a one thousand, five hundred dollars ($1,500.00) fine be accepted or a thirty (30) day 

cigarette permit suspension be executed against the above-captioned permittee 

effective (xyz future date) for a violation that occurred on XXX.  This sanction will count 

as a second violation of Iowa Code section 453A.2(1), pursuant to Iowa Code section 

453A.22(2)(b). 

 

 
________________________________________ 
Mayor or Chairperson of the Board of Supervisors 
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SAMPLE ORDER ACCEPTING 
ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT 

AGREEMENT 
3rd  VIOLATION 

 
BEFORE THE ______________ CITY COUNCIL OR 

THE _______________ COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
      : Legal Address 
Retailer     : (Obtain from permit) 
Address     : ORDER ACCEPTING 
City, Iowa  Zip    : ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT 
      : AGREEMENT 
      :  THIRD VIOLATION 
_____________________________________________________________________ 

 

 On this _____ day of ________________, 20xx, in lieu of a public hearing on the 

matter, the __________ City Council / ___________ County Board of Supervisors 

approves the attached Acknowledgment/Settlement Agreement between the 

above-captioned permittee and the CITY OR COUNTY. 

 Pursuant to the Agreement, IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that a civil penalty of 

a one thousand, five hundred dollars ($1,500.00) fine and a thirty (30) day cigarette 

permit suspension be executed against the above-captioned permittee effective (xyz 

future date) for a violation that occurred on XXX.  This sanction will count as a third 

violation of Iowa Code section 453A.2(1), pursuant to Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(c). 

 

 
________________________________________ 
Mayor or Chairperson of the Board of Supervisors 
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SAMPLE ORDER ACCEPTING 
ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT 

AGREEMENT 
4th VIOLATION 

 
BEFORE THE ______________ CITY COUNCIL OR 

THE _______________ COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
      : Legal Address 
Retailer     : (Obtain from permit) 
Address     : ORDER ACCEPTING 
City, Iowa  Zip    : ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT 
      : AGREEMENT 
      :  FOURTH VIOLATION 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

 On this _____ day of ________________, 20xx, in lieu of a public hearing on the 

matter, the __________ City Council / ___________ County Board of Supervisors 

approves the attached Acknowledgment/Settlement Agreement between the 

above-captioned permittee and the CITY OR COUNTY. 

 Pursuant to the Agreement, IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that a civil penalty of 

a one thousand, five hundred dollars ($1,500.00) fine and a sixty (60) day cigarette 

permit suspension be executed against the above-captioned permittee effective (xyz 

future date) for a violation that occurred on XXX.  This sanction will count as a fourth 

violation of Iowa Code section 453A.2(1) pursuant to Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(d). 

 
 
________________________________________ 
Mayor or Chairperson of the Board of Supervisors 
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SAMPLE ORDER ACCEPTING 
ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT 

AGREEMENT 
5th VIOLATION 

 
BEFORE THE ______________ CITY COUNCIL OR 

THE _______________ COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
      : Legal Address 
Retailer     : (Obtain from permit) 
Address     : ORDER ACCEPTING 
City, Iowa  Zip    : ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT 
      : AGREEMENT 
      :  FIFTH VIOLATION 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

 On this _____ day of ________________, 20xx, in lieu of a public hearing on the 

matter, the __________ City Council / ___________ County Board of Supervisors 

approves the attached Acknowledgment/Settlement Agreement between the 

above-captioned permittee and the CITY OR COUNTY. 

 Pursuant to the Agreement, IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that a civil penalty of 

cigarette permit REVOCATION be executed against the above-captioned permittee 

effective (xyz future date) for a violation that occurred on XXX.  Furthermore, it is 

ordered that no person or entity be granted a new cigarette permit for this location 

(address) until at least one (1) year has passed, unless good cause to the contrary can 

be shown. 

 

 
________________________________________ 
Mayor or Chairperson of the Board of Supervisors 
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SAMPLE LETTER TO PLACE 
BEFORE COUNCIL OR BOARD 

WITH ORDER ACCEPTING 
AGREEMENT 

_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 AFTER RECEIVING A SIGNED ACKNOWLEDGMENT/SETTLEMENT 

AGREEMENT, THIS LETTER CAN BE SENT TO THE COUNCIL OR BOARD 
ALONG WITH THE AGREEMENT AND THE PROPOSED ORDER. 
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      Date 
 
 
RE: 
Permittee 
Address 
City, State  Zip 
 
Dear City Council/County Board of Supervisors: 
 
 I have received a signed Acknowledgment/Settlement Agreement regarding the 
violation of tobacco laws by the above-captioned permittee.  A copy is enclosed for your 
records. 
 
 I have also enclosed an Order form, accepting this agreement in lieu of a public 
hearing and concluding this matter.  Please approve and sign this Order at your next 
regularly scheduled meeting.  The Original signed order should then be sent to the 
permit holder.  A copy should be returned to me, City or County Attorney, Address. 
 
 Thank you for your assistance.  Please call if you have any questions at 555-
5555. 
 
      Sincerely, 
 
 
 
      City or County Attorney 
 
Enclosure 
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SAMPLE ORDERS TO PLACE 
BEFORE COUNCIL OR BOARD 

ASSESSING PENALTIES AFTER 
CONTESTED HEARINGS 

1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th & 5th 
VIOLATIONS 

_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
• THESE ORDERS MAY BE PLACED BEFORE THE COUNCIL OR BOARD 

AFTER A CONTESTED HEARING. 
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SAMPLE ORDER ASSESSING PENALTY 
1ST  VIOLATION 

 
BEFORE THE ______________ CITY COUNCIL OR 

THE _______________ COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
      : Legal Address 
Retailer     : (Obtain from permit) 
Address     : ORDER ASSESSING PENALTY 
City, Iowa  Zip    : FIRST VIOLATION 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

 On this _____ day of ________________, 20xx, after a public hearing on the 

matter, the __________ City Council / ___________ County Board of Supervisors finds 

that based upon evidence submitted by the CITY OR COUNTY Attorney’s Office, the 

above-captioned permittee committed a violation that occurred on XXX of Iowa Code 

section 453A.2(1), selling, giving, or otherwise supplying any tobacco, tobacco 

products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, or cigarettes to any person 

under twenty-one years of age. 

 THEREFORE, the _________ City Council / ____________ County Board of 

Supervisors, hereby orders that a civil penalty in the amount of $300.00 be remitted by 

the above-captioned permittee, to the CITY OR COUNTY, check made payable to the 

“CITY OR COUNTY” on or before month, day, 20xx (30 days from the date of this 

order).  This sanction will count as a first violation of Iowa Code section 453A.2(1), 

pursuant to Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(a).  Be advised that failure to pay the civil 

penalty by this date shall result in the automatic permit suspension for a period of 

fourteen (14) days in addition to the $300.00 fine. 

 
________________________________________ 
Mayor or Chairperson of the Board of Supervisors 
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SAMPLE ORDER ASSESSING PENALTY 
2nd  VIOLATION 

 
BEFORE THE ______________ CITY COUNCIL OR 

THE _______________ COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
      : Legal Address 
Retailer     : (Obtain from permit) 
Address     : ORDER ASSESSING PENALTY 
City, Iowa  Zip    : SECOND VIOLATION 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

 On this _____ day of ________________, 20xx, after a public hearing on the 

matter, the __________ City Council / ___________ County Board of Supervisors finds 

that based upon evidence submitted by the CITY OR COUNTY Attorney’s Office, the 

above-captioned permittee committed a second violation that occurred on XXX of Iowa 

Code section 453A.2(1), selling, giving, or otherwise supplying any tobacco, tobacco 

products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, or cigarettes to any person 

under twenty-one years of age. 

 THEREFORE, the _________ City Council / ____________ County Board of 

Supervisors, hereby orders that a civil penalty of a thirty (30) day cigarette permit 

suspension or a $1,500.00 fine be executed against the above-captioned permittee 

effective (xyz future date).  This sanction will count as a second violation of Iowa Code 

section 453A.2(1), pursuant to Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(b). 

 
________________________________________ 
Mayor or Chairperson of the Board of Supervisors 
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SAMPLE ORDER ASSESSING PENALTY 
3rd  VIOLATION 

 
BEFORE THE ______________ CITY COUNCIL OR 

THE _______________ COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
      : Legal Address 
Retailer     : (Obtain from permit) 
Address     : ORDER ASSESSING PENALTY 
City, Iowa  Zip    : THIRD VIOLATION 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

 On this _____ day of ________________, 20xx, after a public hearing on the 

matter, the __________ City Council / ___________ County Board of Supervisors finds 

that based upon evidence submitted by the CITY OR COUNTY Attorney’s Office, the 

above-captioned permittee committed a third violation that occurred on XXX of Iowa 

Code section 453A.2(1), selling, giving, or otherwise supplying any tobacco, tobacco 

products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, or cigarettes to any person 

under twenty-one years of age. 

 THEREFORE, the _________ City Council / ____________ County Board of 

Supervisors, hereby orders that a civil penalty of a $1,500.00 fine and a thirty (30) day 

cigarette permit suspension be executed against the above-captioned permittee 

effective (xyz future date).  This sanction will count as a third violation of Iowa Code 

section 453A.2(1), pursuant to Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(c). 

 
________________________________________ 
Mayor or Chairperson of the Board of Supervisors 
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SAMPLE ORDER ASSESSING PENALTY 
4th VIOLATION 

 
BEFORE THE ______________ CITY COUNCIL OR 

THE _______________ COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
      : Legal Address 
Retailer     : (Obtain from permit) 
Address     : ORDER ASSESSING PENALTY  
City, Iowa  Zip    : FOURTH VIOLATION 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

 On this _____ day of ________________, 20xx, after a public hearing on the 

matter, the __________ City Council / ___________ County Board of Supervisors finds 

that based upon evidence submitted by the CITY OR COUNTY Attorney’s Office, the 

above-captioned permittee committed a fourth violation that occurred on XXX of Iowa 

Code section 453A.2(1), selling, giving, or otherwise supplying any tobacco, tobacco 

products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, or cigarettes to any person 

under twenty-one years of age. 

 THEREFORE, the _________ City Council / ____________ County Board of 

Supervisors, hereby orders that a civil penalty of a $1,500.00 fine and a sixty (60) day 

cigarette permit suspension be executed against the above-captioned permittee 

effective (xyz future date).  This sanction will count as a fourth violation of Iowa Code 

section 453A.2(1), pursuant to Iowa Code section 453A.22(2)(d). 

 
________________________________________ 
Mayor or Chairperson of the Board of Supervisors 
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SAMPLE ORDER ASSESSING PENALTY 
5th VIOLATION 

 
BEFORE THE ______________ CITY COUNCIL OR 

THE _______________ COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
IN RE:      : Legal Name 
      : Legal Address 
Retailer     : (Obtain from permit) 
Address     : ORDER ASSESSING PENALTY  
City, Iowa  Zip    : FIFTH VIOLATION 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

 On this _____ day of ________________, 20xx, after a public hearing on the 

matter, the __________ City Council / ___________ County Board of Supervisors finds 

that based upon evidence submitted by the CITY OR COUNTY Attorney’s Office, the 

above-captioned permittee committed a fifth violation that occurred on XXX of Iowa 

Code section 453A.2(1), selling, giving, or otherwise supplying any tobacco, tobacco 

products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, or cigarettes to any person 

under twenty-one years of age. 

 THEREFORE, the _________ City Council / ____________ County Board of 

Supervisors, hereby orders that a civil penalty of cigarette permit REVOCATION be 

executed against the above-captioned permittee effective (xyz future date).  

Furthermore, it is ordered that no person or entity be granted a new cigarette permit for 

this location (address) until at least one (1) year has passed, unless good cause to the 

contrary can be shown. 

 
________________________________________ 
Mayor or Chairperson of the Board of Supervisors 
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OTHER RELEVANT TOBACCO LAWS 
 
CRIMINAL PROSECUTION OF PERSONS OTHER THAN A 
RETAILER (ADULTS): 
 
A person, OTHER THAN A RETAILER, who sells, gives, or otherwise supplies any 
tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, or cigarettes 
to any individual under the age of 21, is guilty of a simple misdemeanor.  453A.3(1)(a). 
 
CIVIL PROSECUTION OF PERSONS UNDER 21: 
 
A PERSON under 21 years of age shall not smoke, use, possess, purchase, or attempt 
to purchase any tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor 
products, or cigarettes.  453A.2(2).  NOTE:  a court appearance is required for these 
violations because of the community work requirements.  Note:  the juvenile court does 
not have jurisdiction. 
 
• For a first violation, the fine is $70.  805.8C(3)(c)(1).  And performance of 8 hours 

of community work requirements, unless this is waived by the court.  
453A.3(2)(b). 

 
• For a second violation, the fine is $135.  805.8C(3)(c)(2).  And performance of 12 

hours of community work requirements.  453A.3(2)(c).  There is no provision that 
allows for a waiver of community work requirements on the second offense. 

 
• For a third or subsequent violation, the fine is $325.  805.8C(3)(c)(3).  And the 

performance of 16 hours of community work requirements.  453A.3(2)(d).  There 
is no provision that allows for a waiver of community work requirements on the 
third or subsequent offense. 

 
All of these penalties are CIVIL, not criminal.  Also, the criminal penalty surcharge under 
911.2 cannot be imposed for these violations.  In addition, court costs pursuant to 
805.9(6) cannot be imposed.  805.8C(3)(c). 
 
CRIMINAL PROSECUTION OF PERSONS UNDER 21: 
 
A PERSON under 21 years of age who alters or displays or has in their possession a 
fictitious or fraudulently altered driver's license or a non-operator's id card, and who 
uses this license or card to smoke, use, possess, purchase, or attempt to purchase any 
tobacco, tobacco products, or cigarettes, commits a simple misdemeanor punishable as 
a scheduled violation under section 805.8A, subsection 4 (a fine of $260 as of 2/28/22).  
321.216C. 
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• An employer of a retailer who reasonably believes they have been presented 
with a false or altered license or I.D. may seize it.  If they do this, they then must 
attempt to issue a receipt to the person listing that time and date.  Furthermore, 
they must then turn it over to their local law enforcement officials within 24 hours.  
453A.4(1). 

 
IMMUNITY FOR PERSONS UNDER 21: 
 
A PERSON under 21 years of age who possesses cigarettes or tobacco products as 
part of their employment, does not commit a violation if the employer has a valid 
cigarette permit or lawfully offers for sale cigarettes or tobacco products.  453A.2(3).  
(Note:  This immunity is limited to a minor being able to possess cigarettes or tobacco 
products as part of their employment.  The minor is still liable criminally if he or she sells 
to minors.) 
 
A PERSON under 21 years of age who participates in compliance checks of retailers 
under the supervision of a "peace officer” does not commit a violation.  453A.2(6). 
 
• The definition of a peace officer is listed in 801.4.  As well as in 453A.2(4). 
 
CRIMINAL PROSECUTIONS OF EMPLOYEES OF A RETAILER: 
 
1. These penalties have remained the same. 
2. An EMPLOYEE of a retailer who sells, gives, or otherwise supplies any 

tobacco, tobacco products, or cigarettes to any individual under the age of 
21, is guilty of a simple misdemeanor.  453A.3(1)(b). 

 
• The scheduled penalty fine is set out in 805.8C(3)(b) 
 
  (1) For a first violation, the scheduled fine is $150 
 
  (2) For a second violation, the scheduled fine is $325 
 
  (3) For a third or subsequent violation, the scheduled fine is $645 
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Relevant Case Law 
 

• Randall's Intern. Inc. v. Hearing Bd. of Iowa 
Beer & Liquor Control Dept., 429 N.W.2d 
163 (Iowa 1988) (Finding imposition of civil 
sanctions against employer’s licenses for 
employee’s misconduct does not violate due 
process). 

 
• State v. Casey’s General Stores Inc., 587 

N.W.2d 599 (Iowa 1998) (Finding 
imposition of criminal sanctions against 
employer’s licenses for employee’s 
misconduct does violate due process). 

 
• Jim O. Inc. v. City of Cedar Rapids, 587 

N.W.2d 476 (Iowa 1998) (Finding 
undercover stings using underage youth 
does not constitute entrapment). 
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ROLE OF OTHERS:  CITY CLERKS, 
COUNTY AUDITORS; COUNTY CLERKS; 

LAW ENFORCEMENT 
 
One challenge facing successful civil prosecution on the local level is the exchange of 
information available for the city clerks and county auditors/board secretaries (local 
jurisdictions).  Good communication becomes even more imperative under the new law 
where local jurisdiction have 60 days from the date of the adjudication of the criminal 
offense before the jurisdiction transfers to the state by operation of law. 
 
1.  The local jurisdiction is sometimes unaware that there is a violation under 453A.2(1). 
 
• While the sting operation often involve a local law enforcement entity e.g. city 

police or county sheriff, the information sometimes is not passed on to the local 
jurisdiction and decision-makers within that jurisdiction.  The Iowa Department of 
Justice and Alcohol Beverages Division (ABD) will attempt to overcome this 
challenge by mailing a notice of violation to the proper jurisdiction. 

 
2.  The local jurisdiction is sometimes unaware of the adjudication of the criminal simple 
misdemeanor stemming from the violation of 453A.2(1). 
 
• The local permit issuing authority should make arrangement with the county 

clerk’s office to exchange information about the violation and the subsequent 
judicial process.  The timetable for the adjudication of a simple misdemeanor 
varies depending on the defendant.  A defendant may dispose of a 453A.2(1) 
criminal citation on the date of the offense or if the judicial process is extended, it 
may be several months before there is a criminal adjudication. 

 
3.  The Attorney General’s Office keeps a state-wide database of all of the violations of 
453A.2(1) and the outcome of the subsequent civil prosecutions of the retailers. 
 
• The local permit issuing authority should inform the Attorney General’s Office 

when a civil prosecution has been undertaken or when a retailer uses its first 
affirmative defense in a 4 year period. 

 


